Reviews of our Lodges

You don't have to take our word for how fantastic our Handpicked Lodges are.

Here's what some of our guests have to say

Westcott


"Beautiful Edwardian cottage recently refurbished to a very high standard. It felt isolated in beautiful surroundings although in fact it is only a few minutes walk to the nearby village. Judith was super welcoming and helpful, I really couldn't recommend this place enough."

August 2018

"Fabulous house in a beautiful setting. Good base for exploring the surrounding area and our 4 year old loved the table tennis table and piano. The wildlife was an extra bonus, within 30 of arriving we saw red squirrels, wee moose, rabbits and a woodpecker."

July 2018

"Westcott is a fantastic house and a great base for exploring the gorgeous Cairngorms. Enjoyed watching the wildlife and those squirrels really are cheeky! Will definitely be back to Westcott!"

July 2018

"Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful house!! We will definitely be back. "

August 2018

"We have thoroughly enjoyed our mini-break at Westcott. A beautiful home in a wonderful location. Our 4 year old girl loved seeing the red squirrels! And the adults loved the table tennis! Thank you! "

January 2019

"Had a fantastic stay in Westcott, a fab spot to explore and exercise then came home here to relax and recuperate. Red squirrels and wood-pecker an extra treat. Thank you for making my birthday special. "

February 2019

"Absolutely wonderful stay in such a fantastic lodge. Beautiful scenery. We loved the hot tub and made full use of the board games and games room. We also fully enjoyed all the local trails - such a perfect location. Thank you so much for such a perfect weekend. As always - we will be back. "

April 2019

"A phenomenal place to stay. It's large and spacious, spotlessly clean and includes small locally produced goodies. Cannot recommend highly enough."

May 2019

"Absolutely beautiful. Spotlessly clean house with amazing scenery. Spacious and light. I could not recommend more highly! Never thought I would play table tennis but we all did and I enjoyed it! "

May 2019

"Thank you for letting us stay in this beautiful home. We have had a great week. Enjoyed a cycle to Loch an lelean and climbed Bein a Ghlo. We loved watching the squirrels and birds on the decking area and spending time in the hot tub. What a great week! "

July 2019

"We had no idea what to expect from the Cairngorms or the house as we booked everything from the US, but Westcott and this beautiful place are the stuff of dreams. I loved drinking coffee every morning on the little couch in the kitchen and just just looking out from the house was wonderful. The house is so cosy and a real home away from home. We will definitely be back! "

August 2019

Cairn Eilrig


"A home from home. Delightful house with great warmth about it. Look forward to coming back again to see those views!"

April 2018

"A truely Fantastic cottage. We enjoyed our stay and would love to come again."

April 2018

"Had a great break here. Cottage is wonderful and location is fab."

April 2018

"Such a beautiful house set in a stunning location. Really impressed with the quality of Handpicked Lodges - we will get around them all!"

July 2018

"Thanks very much for a lovely stay. A beautiful presented house in a perfect location. Would definitely stay again. "

August 2018

"We have stayed in many cottages in Aviemore. All good but for me this was definitely the best. Great views, walk and cycle routes from the doorstep. Great service from Handpicked Lodges. We will be back"

September 2018

"The cottage blew us away. The house is immaculate and more the big enough for the 6 of us. Going to book for next year. "

September 2018

"What a beautiful place. The house is cosy and the views are spectacular. Would certainly come back. "

October 2018

"Lovely cottage, best holiday rental we have stayed in. Spotlessly clean. Beautiful location. Has everything you could possibly need. We will recommend to family and friends. "

December 2018

"The weather has been fantastic and its a pure delight to sit and just watch out the window."

January 2019

"Thank you for creating such a lovely place to stay! We've had a fantastic time - arrived in the rain and then had lots of snow overnight! We'll definitely be back! "

January 2019

"Thank you for an amazing stay! The views are breathtaking. We would definitely stay again and recommend to our family and friends. "

February 2019

"Brilliant location. Lovely garden, great views. We had lots of fun staying here. We would love to come back again. Thank you. "

April 2019

"Another lovely holiday in this wonderful lodge. House is very comfortable, stunning views and perfect location. Welcome pack was very tasty! Thanks again for providing such a lovely base in Glenmore. "

May 2019

"We've had a great week at the lodge. Some great walks straight from the door and Loch Morlich just through the campsite. Very impressed with the well appointed lodge, handy storage shed for our watersports gear and we even managed a few BBQ's. We will definitely be back for another stay. "

June 2019

"Absolutely brilliant stay here at Cairn Eilrig. Ideal wee luxurious base for us for lots of watersports, cycling, trail running as well as fantastic walks for our dogs. As we are used to camping this was luxury! We love it and will definitely be back! Thank you for the lovely welcome gift - what a treat! "

July 2019

"Lovely cottage! We had an amazing time here and exploring the Highlands! Lots of fun feeding the reindeer, seeing the hairy coos and seeing the reindeer. Would love to come back in the future to enjoy the beautiful scenery and activities again! Handpicked Lodges exceeded our expectations and a nice welcome gift to greet us! "

July 2019

"W wonderful holiday house - a home from home, in an amazing area - our favourite place in Scotland. Loved watching the rabbits in the garden and the red squirrels in the trees. The best holiday house we have stayed in . We will be back! "

August 2019

"What a fabulous place to stay, everything we needed in the house and surrounding area. We have had a blast, even the dogs are worn out! Will definitely be using Handpicked Lodges again. Loved the welcome pack too! "

August 2019

"Another fantastic stay at this stunning cottage. Walks and cycle routes straight from the door. Although the weather was poor it never kept us in. The shed is a god send for storing bikes. Great service from HPL. Attention to detail. Hope to return for a 3rd visit. "

September 2019

"As soft and lovely as the heather in the glen, As sturdy and strong as the hills, Timeless in comfort Abundant in welcome Cairn Eilrig has been And in memory ever will Be a bonnie Scottish home So delightful to have been here! To arrive to such a cordial note, accompanied by your thoughtful. welcoming gifts. truly began a marvellous time here in the Cairngorm Mountains. Thank you Handpicked Lodges for sharing this beautiful home with us! Congratulations on your recent awards - they are well deserved - and our best wishes for your ongoing success. "

September 2019

"Like the Cairngorms scenery, Cairn Eilrig as a holiday home ticks all the boxes. We've had a lovely time and are sad to be going home. "

October 2019

"We keep coming back to our favourite place to stay in the Highlands. Blessed with beautiful views, four seasons in a day. Never fails to surpass our expectations. Walks from the doorstep, amazing. Thanks to Judith and team Handpicked! "

October 2019

Trails End Lodge


"Five star accommodation! Five star holiday! Five star location!"

July 2018

"Beautiful House and setting. Weather was fantastic, even used the BBQ! Always love coming to Aviemore and will definitely be back to stay here again."

May 2018

"We are all sad to leave. Just a weekend is too short! Hopefully we'll be back again some time!"

May 2018

"t was a privilege to be the first guests in this lovely house. We've visited Aviemore many times over many years and this is one of the loveliest places we've stayed."

April 2018

"A fantastic weeks break at Trails End Lodge for my 40th birthday. House is absolutely immaculate and perfect for all the family. "

September 2018

"We have had a lovely time here. We loved the house and felt right at home. Perfect location. Great facilities and five stars for cleanliness in fact, five stars all round! "

December 2018

"Lovely house on the edge of Aviemore. Spotless and very comfortable. Finished to a high standard. Loved the fire."

January 2019

"Lovely lodge that had everything we needed for our group. Log burner was great. Couldn't have been a better location for the mountain bikers in our group and 2 minutes from Aviemore. Would highly recommend. "

March 2019

"We had a fantastic week at Trails End Lodge. The superb weather meant we could make the most of the walks in the area. Enjoyed the variety of scenery from mountains, to lochs and forests. We have been so impressed with the standard of accommodation we have already booked a return visit at another of your properties in the summer! Cant wait! "

April 2019

"A beautiful, warm and comfortable house, so well equipped and spotlessly clean. The wood burning stove was an added bonus for colder days. The location was perfect, lovely and quiet and a very enjoyable 20 minute stroll through the woods to the village. Judith had left bread, honey, jam and fresh coffee for our arrival which was such a lovely, welcoming touch. we will definitely be back!"

July 2019

"Lovely clean house. Forth time to visit Aviemore but definitely the best accommodation. Weather was mostly dry so always a bonus. Good sized garden for our newfoundlands Barney and Baloo to have a wander. Enjoyed our walks and the beautiful scenery once again. Thank you for the comfortable house to relax after a busy day. "

September 2019

"Beautiful house, lovely time and cant wait to come back. "

October 2019

The Bothy


"Beautiful Bothy with everything you need in it to make such a comfortable stay. Had a throughly enjoyable break and would recommend The Bothy to everyone!"

July 2018

"The Bothy was a great retreat following a weekend skiing. Warm, clean and extremely well equipped. Loved the decoration. Perfect location. Great communication and instructions from Judith too. Highly recommend"

February 2018

"This is the perfect place to stay in aviemore, it's clean, it's warm and it has everything you need to feel at home. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm back."

January 2018

"Great lodge, and great break. Perfect for my partner and I and our four legged baby French bull dog loved the fire. We will return in the future."

August 2017

"We have absolutely loved our stay at the Bothy. Thank you so much for all of the thoughtful touches. We would love to stay again. "

October 2018

"We have loved our stay in The Bothy this week. We dont want to go home! The Bothy is fitted out to a very high standard making it a real home from home. We have stayed in many lodges in Aviemore and this has definitely made my top 2. We are looking forward to our next visit already! "

October 2018

"What a fab house! Loved the decor and the fire! Had a brilliant week here at the Bothy. "

November 2018

"We had a fantastic stay at The Bothy. It was beautiful and we loved all the extra touches and welcome gifts. Would love to come back again done day!"

December 2018

"Great stay in Aviemore in lovely well thought out accommodation. "

April 2019

"The Bothy has been perfect. The decor and facilities are excellent, especially loved the welcome treats. The weather was fantastic and Mylo (dog) loved playing in the garden. We will definitely be back and recommend The Bothy to friends and family. We will take away amazing memories from our stay. Thank you. "

April 2019

"The bothy has been warm and comfortable with a good mixture of modern, contemporary, practical and stylish. "

May 2019

"Great wee stay ath The Bothy. Excellent decor. We had a great week's weather also which helped. Will be back. "

July 2019

"We really enjoyed our stay at The Bothy. A beautiful spot that made us feel welcome. Thank you for having us, we will be back. "

August 2019

"“Great, comfortable, well equipped and sparkling clean house with everything one needs to enjoy a great vacation. We took some fantastic walks close to the Bothy and loved our stay. Communication with Judith went very well. A clear recommendation to stay here.”"

August 2019

"Had a fantastic weekend staying in The Bothy, very cosy and love the decor! The bath is my favourite! A great base for lots of activities and will definitely be back. "

September 2019

Burnbrae Lodge


"What a lovely house! Spacious and cosy at the same time, well stocked too!"

June 2018

"Lovely house, clean, comfy and feels secluded despite being in Carrbridge- and very easy to find. Check in and communication were great, and it's a perfect base for exploring Cairngorms and Aviemore."

February 2018

"Whoever is reading this, request the booking before everyone else does. It is as simple as that!!! We had a great time in the house for three nights. The house is very clean even for someone who is obsessed with cleanliness. On top of that, even if the weather was not the best to be out, this house provides enough entertainment just to stay in and get the best out of your relaxing Scotland holiday."

July 2018

"Amazing house! Incredible scenery! Wonderful stay, I can't say enough about this wonderful house and host.....Thank you for an amazing stay! The best place we have ever stayed, we hope to come back soon."

July 2017

"Burnbrae is a beautiful, spacious and well equipped house in a great location for touring the surrounding area. "

August 2018

"Thnak you so much for our fabulous long weekend in Burnbrae. Nothing at all is missing here. The pad is just so well equipped. "

September 2018

"This is an amazing house in a fantastic location. Everything about the house was special. "

October 2018

"Thanks for a lovely stay. The house is beautiful, our 1.5 year old loved the playroom with all of the toys! We loved the log fire and the pool table! "

January 2019

"Thanks for a lovely weekend. Plenty to keep everyone entertained and our weather was brilliant. "

April 2019

"Amazing house. Absolutely huge. Went up for my mum's 50th birthday and had an amazing time. There was so much to do in the house; pool table, darts, foosball, board games, DVDs and the garage was filled with outdoor equipment like bikes and swing ball. Would totally recommend this place. Carrbridge is a lovely town with some great places to eat and drink. "

May 2019

"Thank you for a wonderful stay. The house was clean and welcoming. We enjoyed the use of the wood burning stove when the weather was rainy. However we had some wonderful weather too. Great location with lots for us to do. "

July 2019

"We have enjoyed a fantastic week at Burnbrae celebrating a special birthday! Such a beautiful home, absolutely spotless and with stunning views. "

July 2019

"We had a brilliant weekend staying in Burnbrae Lodge celebrating a special big birthday! Loved the wood burnering stove, the views, the facilities the house offers. Fantastic place to stay and to call 'home' Hope to return very soon. Thank you "

August 2019

"Had a fantastic week at the lodge. Had everything you could possible ask for and more. The games room being situated in the heart of the home was amazing as you just couldn't help but have a game of pools. Its been such a relaxing holiday we really dont want to leave. Great work Handpicked Lodges you really make the effort to ensure we all have a great holiday. "

September 2019

"Thanks for letting us stay in your amazing house! A perfect house in a perfect location to explore Scotland. Plenty of cycling, running, walking, golfing and drinking! We'll be back again next year for sure! "

October 2019

"Thank you for a wonderful stay at Burnbrae. The house had everything we could need for a relaxing family weekend. The binoculars were well used to watch deer and pheasants in the field. Wonderful location with beautiful places to visit all around. "

October 2019

Riverside Lodge


"The lodge is amazing and we dont want to leave! We'll miss waking up to the fantastic views and having our breakfast on the patio. The river at the back is such a bonus - lots of family memories of all the fun there. Thank you"

August 2018

"A wonderful haven to come back to after a day full of outdoor activities with our 2 boys. We had a wonderful family holiday! The fire pit next to the river was a lovely added bonus, where we toasted marshmallows looking up at the stars. The house itself is very comfortable, I would highly recommend it. Judith’s pre-holiday information was very useful, as was the area information in the house. Thank you!!"

October 2017

"What a fantastic house. We spent 2 weeks in Riverside Lodge and could have happily stayed longer. There are lots of lovely walks and cycling routes right from the front door or just a short drive to Aviemore. If you enjoy the outdoors or just a relaxing family/romantic trip away I couldn't recommend it anymore."

September 2017

"We had a wonderful stay at Riverside Lodge and only wished we could've stayed longer. The house is ideal for families or groups of friends and it couldn't be better equipped for what we needed. The rooms are beautifully decorated and opening the bedroom patio door to the sunshine and sound of the river every morning was an excellent alarm call! Our small people guddled in the river for hours on end and we were only a short drive from all the activities we needed. Highly recommended. "

June 2017

"The design and comfort of the lodge is perfect, we've enjoyed many evenings sat around the fire pit and watching the birds. This is our 5th time in Scotland and by far the best lodge! "

August 2018

"Second visit and sure it wont be the last. Great time again. "

September 2018

"In one word - Tranquility! A perfect piece of heaven. We loved the sun rise and sun set over the river and listening to the water from our beds. "

October 2018

"Another fantastice week at Riverside Lodge. The changes made to the decor are great. Hope to return again next year. "

October 2018

"We have had a wonderful break at this beautiful lodge. The sound of the river is therapeutic and the view is stunning.......underfloor heating is a joy. "

November 2018

"Fantastic advert for Nethy Bridge and the Cairngorms National Park. Modern and comfortable stylish home with great facilities, welcome pack and local information. Nethy and the surrounding area has a great deal going for it especially if you are into the outdoors. House has all the comforts for you to enjoy whatever the weather"

January 2019

"We have had an amazing few days here. We saw three red squirrels. We hope to come back again. "

February 2019

"A simply idyllic place to take a breathe and experience Scotland’s Cairngorms Mountains."

April 2019

"Simply fantastic. Amazing place, furnished beautifully and set beside a stunning river. It was perfect. We will definitely return"

May 2019

"Thank you for this lovely house. You absolutely thought of everything. Its beautifully decorated and really clean. There was nothing we missed. It was like coming home. And this fantastic view and tranquility! Its to die for! Thank you so much. "

May 2019

"Another brilliant stay at Riverside Lodge. Amazing weather with campfires, paddling and spending all the time outside. So comfortable. Great final meal provided by Speyside Kitchen. Thank you "

June 2019

"What a stunning location for a holiday property. We loved the fact that each room had a view of the river and enjoyed listening to the sound of the water through the open doors. "

August 2019

Alltnacriche


"Fabulous property, our only regret was not being able to stay longer. Made for a great base for trips to the Cairngorms. Super facilities mean 10 could easily be hosted here, with ample lounge space. Hope to return in future to see all Carrbridge has to offer in warmer months."

January 2018

"Fantastic lodge in a lovely peaceful location, just outside of Carrbridge. Everything finished to a very high standard both inside and outside. Very comfy beds in all the bedrooms with good communal areas with a cracking wood burning fire. Best bit for the group of 9 was the hot tub in the garden!"

November 2017

"This place is incredible. Beautiful cottage with so much space. Very tastefully decorated with every comfort. We had an amazing four days here. There are so many activities nearby in the area, a lovely little village in walking distance and when we asked for restaurant recommendations, the hotel the hosts told us about was spectacular. Communication was always prompt, polite and helpful and when we had a bit of a disaster with jewellery going down a drain they organised a plumber with no hassle. If you want a holiday in the Scottish Highlands this place is without a doubt the place to book. We will definitely be back"

July 2017

"An excellent house which accommodated our party of 10 easily. It was very well equipped with a lot of lovely personal touches throughout. Beds were comfortable and everywhere was very clean. The house is within easy walking distance of local restaurants and the nine hole golf course which is well worth playing. The hot tub was put to good use during our stay as was the outside garden furniture. The house stands in its own grounds, off the main road, so safe and very quiet at all times. A house we are definitely returning to!"

June 2017

"Such a wonderful house and location! We have stayed in many properties in the area and this is definitely the best. We will be back! "

October 2018

"Everything is awesome about the house. We would definitely come back again! "

April 2019

"We had a fantastic week. Kids loved the cycling, the river, the hot tub, the house - everything! Adults loved the great house and all the area has to offer - fantastic scenery. We would love to come back - thank you. "

July 2019

"Very special extended family get together. Perfect location and house. Happy children and adults. "

June 2019

"We had a fabulous time here for and extended family holiday. Great for kids and oldies alike! The kids loved the DVD collection! The grown up's the beautiful setting and the space. Wonderful. A very special place to stay and we hope to be back soon. Thank you! "

August 2019

"Perfect place to celebrate retiring. So many good things, not sure where to begin. House, location, Lily (horse) in field, cycle tracks, hot tub, Landmark Adventure Park and a good selection of reading material in the toilet! Five Stars*****"

July 2019

The Old Smithy


"The Old Smithy is a really beautiful little lodge nestled on the outskirts of the quiet picturesque Nethy Bridge. Ideally located for our skiing needs between Cairngorm and Lecht, and just a short drive from the main town of Aviemore. Judith was the perfect host, answered all our questions and provided everything we needed, even leaving us a card and welcome drinks. The Old Smithy is clean, tidy and well equipped with everything for a self catering stay. The log burner and view is simply stunning. Highly recommended stay! Thank you!"

February 2018

"This is a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Private steps lead down to the river and the log burning stove will keep you warm after a day walking in the forest or hills. Cannot recommend this place enough and the hosts, Tanja and Judith, are most thoughtful and welcoming. Five stars."

September 2017

"The Old Smithy is a special place, a real home from home. The house itself offers an extremely high standard of accommodation with many lovely design touches and is very well equipped. It's location is outstanding with a fabulous garden with great walks and bike trails on the doorstep. You really couldn't ask for more from a holiday cottage."

June 2017

"Very good holiday cottage. Thank you for another great fortnight here. "

September 2018

"What a beautiful cottage in a lovely setting. All you need for a wonderful holiday. "

October 2018

"This is our 3rd stay at the Old Smithy and it gets better each time. It really is a wee home from home and we will definitely be back for a 4th stay. "

October 2018

"The cottage is so well appointed and everything has been thought of. We loved the wood burning stove which kept us so cosy. Thanks for the goodies which you left for us. We'd love to come back sometime. "

December 2018

"Exactly what we needed for a few days exploring the highlands. It was chilly outside but beautifully warm and welcoming at the Old Smithy. Had some really good nights of sleep thanks to the comfy bed, and a perfect amount of indoor space for reading, watching tv and playing board games. Thank you!"

January 2019

"Had a fabulous time at The Old Smithy. Had everything we needed, plus more! Thanks for the goodies and welcome cards also.....very much appreciated after a long journey here! Will have to visit again when the weather is a little warmer. "

January 2019

"First class house, very welcoming and cosy. Great selection of welcome gifts, very thoughtful. Played board games by the fire each night and great walks nearby for the dog! No doubt we will be back soon! Thank you "

March 2019

"Lovely relaxing week re-discoving Nethy Bridge and the surrounding area. Great to come back to the toasty log burner each day and we saw a few red squirrels on our travels and in the garden. "

October 2019

Foresters Lodge


"Wonderful house and garden in the most perfect location we have ever had in Nethy Bridge. I think we have our perfect house! Cant wait to come back."

July 2018

"The accommodation was wonderful and Judith was very attentive. We loved the shortbread that was waiting for us and Sam our lab loved the nearby walks and river. Thank you Judith."

September 2017

"The house is amazing, beautifully furnished, spacious (way bigger than what we expected from the images), everything you could possibly need is there. The hot tub, the sauna, the TV room and the games room are good fun and keep everyone busy in a bigger group. The kitchen is simply amazing, such a great open plan kitchen with enough space to comfortably sit everyone and to cook for a big group. A big fridge and an extra smaller one and the big stove are really helpful. The beds are incredibly comfortable and everyone slept so well. We went for hiking, fishing and kayaking trips nearby which was all not very far. The Spar and the Farm store in town are great places to buy fresh products from very friendly people. The whole area is well worth a trip! Thank you Judith and Tanja for offering such a great house"

May 2017

"This lodge has been tastefully renovated and is fantastic for large groups. After spending the days exploring the wilderness we made great use of the sauna, hot tub and games room each evening, without ever feeling the need to leave the lodge! Would love to stay here again."

April 2017

"Had a lovely time here at Foresters Lodge. Lovely decor, comfy beds and great facilities (hot tub and sauna!) We will definitely recommend to everyone back home! "

August 2018

"Fab time had by all! Great location and lovely house. Enjoyed the hot tub and cosy fires. "

September 2018

"Had a lovely long weekend here. The house and all the facilities have been amazing. A great family weekend in the hot tub, sauna and playing pool and board games. We will definitely be back. "

September 2018

"We enjoyed a wonderful family break. The lodge is very well catered for and as guests we couldn't have asked for more. Excellent location for day trips and beautiful woodland walks....followed by a relaxing evening in the hot tub and sauna. "

October 2018

"We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this gorgeous property. Had fun in the games room, relaxed and chilled in welcoming surroundings as well as having a lovely walk in Dell Woods. The hot tub was amazing and the sauna a bonus. Thank you for the welcome pack and the well stocked kitchen. We would love to return again in the future. "

December 2018

"We had an amazing family fun weekend to celebrate a special birthday. We loved the hot tub and made great use of the games room! Beds are super comfy! We will be back - thank you! "

January 2019

"Thank you for a wonderful long weekend in your beautiful lodge. It felt like home from the moment we came through the door. We made full use of the hot tub and sauna. We all loved the games room, relaxing in front of the fire in the evenings was just perfect. Great location too. Lots of walks and loved the Strathspey Steam railway. Fab weekend - would love to come back. "

April 2019

"Fantastic week in Nethy Bridge staying at Foresters Lodge. Great location and beautiful house. Hot tub, sauna and pool room are brilliant additions. "

May 2019

"Another fantastic holiday at Foresters Lodge! And another amazing holiday in Nethy Bridge. Garden is perfect for all the family, old to young. Once again location is perfect and all the lovely walks and adventures are on our doorstep - especially the fairy doors in the woods!! Thanks again to all the team at Handpicked Lodges for sorting everything. Cant wait to be back! "

August 2019

"We have had another fantastic trip up here. Kids had a ball as did the grandparents! Friends and dogs also love it. "

October 2019

"5 adults, a cat and a dog had the best time here. Great accommodation. Cooked superb meals in the fab kitchen every night. Sauna and hot tub first thing in the morning. Distilleries and Logie farm in the day. Leaves gently turning. Darts and log fire at night. Spectacular! "

October 2019

Tomdhu Lodge


"We were honoured to be the first guests of this beautiful house. The hot tub was fab. House was superbly equipped and a wonderful base for all our outdoor activities. Spotted a couple of deers and an osprey! The views were fantastic. Hoping to come back soon. "

October 2018

"Thank you for a fantastic week! We spotted more wildlife then we ever dreamed of! The house is great and a real luxury to come home to. "

October 2018

"This is an amazing house in a great location, immaculate condition and superb amenities. Would not hesitate to give it 5 stars and would certainly recommend it to anyone"

December 2018

"A great stay, wonderful setting , hot tub fantastic (especially after our husky event!) Loved how you had thought of the dogs, bed, towels, bowls. Location really worked for us, shame we couldn't stay longer. "

January 2019

"What a gorgeous place - it really is 'Grand Designs.' Lodge was better in reality then the photographs. Location beautiful. Lots to do and see in the area. We will hopefully be back!!! "

March 2019

"Wonderful house, wonderful weather, had a fantastic 3 nights. Spotted a hare, enjoyed the hot tub, will have to come back in the winter to try the stove. "

April 2019

"Loved the house and the hot tub. Thank you so much for your help and excellent communication. We'll definitely recommend to others. "

May 2019

"My family and I had a wonderful stay. We would highly recommend the lodge to anyone looking for a break away in the mountains. We even managed to see some deer from the lounge! The space was decorated stylishly and everything was thought of to make our stay easy and comfortable."

July 2019

"What an amazing house and surroundings. Perfect for our dog! So much to do and see. We would highly recommend coming here! and would love to return. Thank you so much. "

August 2019

"Thank you so much. We had an amazing time, the lodge was perfect in every way. We would love to come back and will definitely return. "

August 2019

"The lodge is beautiful and very well equipped. We had a great stay and the dogs had a fab time. "

September 2019

"Thank you ever-so-much, the lodge was spectacular and made us feel very homely. Great location and sure will be back to see more of Scotland. "

September 2019

"Fabulous few days at Tomdhu Lodge. House very well equipped with everything you could need. Beds so comfortable, house cosy and welcoming. Loved the hot tub. Very grateful for the dog bed and the entrance for all our boost, coats etc. All in all *****[five stars]"

October 2019

"Family holidays are so precious so we always take care working out where to go and where to stay. It is always a great start to the holiday when you arrive at your chosen property and find a place like Tomdhu. Its been totally perfect. We will be back for sure. "

October 2019

Rymore Wood Lodge


"Rymore Lodge sits on the middle of a secluded forest in the beautiful Cairngorms. Just a few miles away from the nearest town, it's the perfect place to unwind and explore this beautiful area from. The house has four very comfortable bedrooms (two double, two twin) as well as a large but cosy living room and a large, well equipped kitchen/dining room, with great views onto the garden. There is a terrace with a barbeque. The setting is incredibly peaceful. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the house is very warmly recommended!"

September 2018

"If you can say a house has emotions then Rymore has. Welcoming, relaxing, warming and peaceful even with 3 children and 4 dogs running around and enjoying the surroundings. Perfect place to stay for a larger group and so well supplied with everything you need. We had the best family holiday ever and returning to Rymore after all our trips out was the icing on the cake. Thank you"

October 2018

"We have loved staying in your secret forest. So much wildlife just sits at each window. The lodge is lovely, spacious and comfortable. Warm and well appointed. The wildlife cameras are an inspired and valued addition. "

November 2018

"The location was perfect if you're looking to get away from it all. We loved the birdtables (food for them was provided) and the open fire. The house itself was spotless and had everything you would need for a break."

November 2018

"We had a lovely stay here as a group of friends and would highly recommend this house as a quiet retreat in the Cairngorms. Everything was easy to use and the house was as described! Thanks :)"

January 2019

"This was our 3rd stay at Rymore Wood Lodge and it was clean and comfortable as usual. A perfect place to relax in. Each year it seems to get better and better and the addition of the feeder cam enabled us to watch the Pine Marten and Badgers each evening, which was the icing on the cake. The day time wildlife didnt disappoint either with Red Squirrels, Crested tit and 16 Brambling all at one time! Hopefully we'll return for our 4th stay next year! "

March 2019

"Wonderful week and fantastic weather. enjoyed Rymore wood Lodge, well appointed and plenty of room for 3 generations and the dog. Thanks so much we'll be back. "

April 2019

"Thanks a lot. We had a great time in your comfortable house in the wood. We did some beautiful walks and enjoyed watching so many birds. "

July 2019

"We have really enjoyed our stay at Rymore. Lovely warm house in beautiful surroundings. Perfect base for visiting attractions and lots of places on the doorstep for walking the dog. Great watching all the wildlife around the house coming to the bird feeders. Weather was great too. "

July 2019

"Thank you we really enjoyed our stay in your lovely lodge. We had a wonderful time with great weather and explored the surrounding area, especially the whisky trail and nearby castles. Our run to Loch Garten was amazing, beautiful views, wild animals and the stunning nature! "

August 2019

"Lovely stay for us all - only wish we could have stayed longer. The feeders provided endless interest. I counted 22 birds at a single moment of five species. Then the pine marten - wow! "

August 2019

"We had a wonderful stay here at Rymore Wood Lodge. We routinely saw red squirrels in the morning (between 8am and 9am). Along with loads of birds, coal tits, crested tits, chaffinches, great tits, wood pigeons, as well as several birds we couldn't identify. A badger turned up usually around 9pm, but also at 1am and 3am. We saw a pine marten several times as well. We saw a couple of deer down by Loch Garten. We had a great time exploring the area. It's so beautiful we used Rymore as a base to visit several distilleries. A great way to celebrate my 40th. Thanks very much for a fantastic stay! "

September 2019

Douglas Cottage


"Charming cottage perfectly clean and very warm and cosy. Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could need. We especially enjoyed the log fire and the pretty garden. Superbly situated for local shops and the wonderful Boat Inn. A lovely place to stay. Would defiantly recommend."

October 2018

"I almost don’t want to write this review as then other people will want to stay here and we might not be able to! The house is amazing, and had everything we needed. Great location in the village, and full of thoughtful touches."

December 2018

"Lovely cottage, very warm. Mixed weather with sun, frost, rain and snow!! Good walks around the village and in the forest. Thanks to Judith and Tanja for another lovely stay in one of your lodges, First class! "

March 2019

"An excellent cottage for a family holiday."

April 2019

"Fantastic house and great location for walking and cycling especially with the kids. The Speyside Way to Aviemore takes no time and loch Garten only a short ride away. "

April 2019

"Lovely cottage! Our first stay in Boat of Garten and we loved it. You can cycle everywhere from here and walk to the pub so we were all very happy. Our dachshund particularly liked his big friend in the garden! "

July 2019

"This is an amazing holiday house. Really comfy and well equipped plus next to the pub and across from a really good shop. We ordered fresh fish which was delicious. Such a great location for walking and cycling but not far from the busy Aviemore centre. "

July 2019

"Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home. We've had the most amazing 5 days. Your cottage is truly beautiful and Scotland is the most picturesque place I have visited in the whole world. Sad to leave but will be enjoying the West of Scotland on the way back down South. Would highly recommend Douglas Cottage 100% "

July 2019

"What an amazing cottage. We loved it........Loved Boat og Garten too. Good pub, beautiful walks. Thank you so much. "

September 2019

"An absolutely fantastic cottage. A great size for 6 people and has everything you’ll need for your stay and a lot more. Beautifully decorated and plenty of space. We loved the cottage. The bedrooms were a great size and the kitchen and communal eating area great for socialising and talking about the wonderful day we’d just had over a glass of wine or two. Or the equipment around the house is modern and easy to use. We loved the auto floor lighting on the landing. Less than a minutes walk away is the The Boat Hotel where we had an amazing dinner one night and also serves Cairngorm Brewery beer....at least a pint is compulsory, I’d say. The are so many things to do nearby. A stroll through the forest round the corner, the Steam railway close by, whiskey distilleries and many other things everyone can enjoy. Absolutely no complaints and happy to highly recommend Douglas Cottage."

September 2019

"We've had a marvellous time here. 3 generations all well catered for. Cottage well equipped nicely furnished and decorated. Will be sure to recommend you and hope to be back. "

October 2019

Smithy & Riverside Lodge


"The lodges were amazing and gorgeous, both inside and out - perfect for our family weekend away. Judith was so helpful in the run up to our stay and the house was well equipped with all the information we needed about the house and surrounding area."

December 2018

"Our party of 11 adults, 2 babies and a 4 year old were easily accommodated between Riverside Lodge and The Old Smithy. We had a fantastic weekend celebrating a 30th birthday. The cottages are lovely and everything we needed was provided. [Handpicked Lodges] kindly decorated Riverside Lodge with 30th decorations for our arrival. We will certainly look into a return visit. Possibly making this an annual trip. "

March 2019

Craigard Lodge


"Brilliant place for a fantastic weekend away with friends and family. Everything about it was perfect! "

February 2019

"Our spring weekend in Speyside has been wonderful. The house is gorgeous and quiet and with space for everyone. The games room and cinema room were well used and listening to the bird song and wood pecker, has been a treat. Thanks Craigard Lodge! "

April 2019

"What can I say? Everything about the house was perfect! 2 families and grandparents so enjoyed their time here. From making amazing dens in the woods to lakeland walks. The steam train at the end of the garden just added to it! The children were enthralled. We are all so sad to be going home. Thank you. "

April 2019

"Thank you to everyone at Handpicked Lodges for a fantastic weekend. A beautiful house, great facilities and amazing surroundings. We stayed here along with grandparents who throughly enjoyed it too. The steam railway was great, kids loved waving to the drivers and passengers! A fabulous and luxurious way to celebrate my 30th birthday! "

May 2019

"Stunning house with even more amazing surroundings. The kids had an amazing time here and made sure the adults didnt hog the hot tub. The House was so well presented and stocked with all the essentials and more! Looking forward to returning in the future. "

August 2019

"A wonderful place to stay for our 50th birthday celebrations. Enough space so the oldies and not so oldies could spread out. The house was presented beautifully and had everything we could want. "

August 2019

"Yet another excellent year at Craigard. The standard of our golf declines steadily but Criagard seems to improve each time we stay. "

September 2019

"Amazing house, we had the best time in this gorgeous house, thank you Cragiard. We all hope to be back. "

September 2019

"Fantastic family holiday. Everlasting memories made right here. "

October 2019

Firhall


"Firhall was a wonderful find, really beautiful and comfortable accommodation with everything you could possibly need or want. With one of my favourite restaurants right across the road. Would love another visit."

May 2019

"WOW What a find! We were so impressed with your beautiful house. Everything was immaculate and it has everything we could possible need. The stacks of DVD's and games in the upstairs cupboard were a really nice touch. We loved our stay at Firhall. Thank you"

May 2019

"Thank you so much for having us! Firhall was such a homely experience for us. Its a lovely house tucked away in the serendipitous scene. The welcome hamper was so thoughtful. We hope to visit again! "

July 2019

"A very enjoyable 4 day break made possible with the facilities offered at Firhall. The ambience, spaciousness and the thoughtfulness of furniture and equipment as of the highest standard. All in all as a family we are very impressed with all aspects of Firhall. Would certainly wish to return and certainly recommend to family and friends. A worthy 5 stars! "

July 2019

"Firhall is a stunning home. It was spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need and more! The location is beautiful and peaceful. It’s perfect if you enjoy walking or just enjoy the outdoors. Communication was fantastic and it’s clear they want you to enjoy your stay. We would definitely book again as my family had such a lovely time. It gets a 10/10 from us!"

July 2019

"What a fantastic house - everything from the design, furnishings, ambience is of great quality and certainly gove our holiday that luxurious feel. We appreciated it all (thank you very much for the welcome pack). A very welcoming property to return to after our days out. We throughly enjoyed our stay at Firhall. "

August 2019

"“Firhall was one of the best places I have stayed in. Absolutely fantastic! It is kitted out with everything you could ever need or want, and the little touches around the house were lovely. We also received a lovely little welcome basket on arrival which included a number of goodies from around the local area. If you are looking to stay around the Boat of Garten area then you should stay nowhere else! I only wish we stayed longer.”"

August 2019

"“Firhall is one of the nicest places me and my family have stayed - even though the photos look amazing that somehow doesn’t do this house justice! Wonderful, comfortable and an amazing location. Easy check in, and lots of helpful tips for the area - Cannot recommend enough!”"

September 2019

The Wilds


"The Wilds is an amazing place. We loved it. Its huge and yet warm and homely. We spent most of the time in the kitchen which is fully stacked and big enough for the entire group. Thanks for creating such a thoughtful place and giving us an opportunity to stay! "

May 2019

"Thank you for the most wonderful family holiday. We had a fantastic time. The place has everything you need and more. We will most definitely be back! "

July 2019

"A most wonderful week to celebrate a 70th birthday with our family and some friends. Just loved the house and the garden - perfect for all the children. We had little plays on the lawn, pooh-sticks in the stream and even cricket one sunny day. The table tennis was a huge hit. A magical week in this amazing house - we hope to be back. "

August 2019

"We had a wonderful family weekend. Celebrating a 70th birthday. The lodge is stunning. You've thought of everything. "

August 2019

"We had the most amazing time celebrating our good friend Jame's 30th Birthday. The place is stunning and we enjoyed everything it had to offer. Lots of laughs and drinks between amazing friends. A weekend we wont forget!"

August 2019

"We had an amazing time. Highland games, bootcamp, card games, karaoke and even sun bathing in the hot tub. A completely unforgettable weekend. "

August 2019

"Most pleasant venue for a family gathering. So much space for the children's adventures and games. House excellent and so modern. Loved the architectural details. Wilds Wildlife included visits from red squirrel, wood mice, signs of a pine marten. Great spotted woodpeckers, all the tits species except crested, robin, wren, dunnock and chaffinches. Wonderful. "

August 2019

"We had a fantastic stay at the Wilds for our mums surprise birthday. The house and facilities as beautiful - almost as beautiful as the stunning surroundings. We visited the Highland Folk Museum - a great day out and had a good feed at the McInnes House Hotel Sunday Carvery. We cant wait to visit again. "

September 2019

Kincraig House


"By far the nicest place I’ve ever stayed at. It was much better than what we were expecting. It was a mansion that could host 4-5 families easily. It was spacious and child friendly. Sparking clean and full of amenities."

July 2019

"We loved our stay in the beautiful house - we felt so comfortable and at home! Having the wood fire in the evenings was a real treat. We only wish we could stay longer - we hope to be back some day! "

August 2019

"Stunning House! Celebrated our sons 30th birthday with out friends and family. House has everything you could possible need. Views and places to walk around the house are beautiful. We look forward to returning again very soon. "

August 2019

"A wonderful house in a fabulous location! Thank you for letting us stay in this beautiful house. We loved exploring the area! "

August 2019

"Wonderful house, wonderful hosts. We have really enjoyed our stay. "

August 2019

"Privileged to be the first guests. Thank you for a wonderful time in your lovely cottage. Everything was just perfect. We are sad to leave, but take with us fond memories. "

June 2019

"We really enjoyed our stay. The owners did a great job with their renovation and decoration and it made for a very comfortable place for a couple of nights. The kids loved their little bedroom too, and my youngest spent a few hours just reading on a sheepskin on the floor ;) We hope to come back one day, for a little longer! "

August 2019

Kincraig House


"What a wonderful place to finish off our honeymoon. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy every minute in this idyllic, warm, cosy and lovely cottage. "

October 2019

"We had a momentous and wonderful stay here celebrating numerous family birthdays and our parents 40th anniversary. We all love the house, the log fire, the feel of the place, and the views are simply stunning. We shall definitely see you again soon. "

October 2019

"Had a fabulous weeks stay in Kincraig House. A perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms and surrounding area as as a comfortable home to return to each evening. Warm, well appointed, welcoming and perfect home from home. Had a great time and will be back soon. "

October 2019

"Great place to stay, really well equipped and could have spent my stay in that great bath! Will miss the roaring outside at night from our Monarch of the Glen! Cant wait to come back. "

October 2019

"Fantastic. Wonderful house. Beautiful setting. Something for all the family. We had an amazing stay. Thank you. "

October 2019

"Everything one could possible want to make such a memorable holiday. The ultimate in comfort, warmth, peace in this very well appointed and beautiful house. Already thinking about returning in 2020. Thank you very much! "

September 2019

Caberfeidh


"This is a delightful family home set in lovely countryside. It is in a superb location with both lovely walks straight from the house and interesting places to visit close at hand. It was -6* when we arrived but the house was lovely and cosy. There is ample parking and plenty of room for children to play in a safe and spacious garden. The house is beautifully decorated, well-equipped with everything you need for an enjoyable stay, a wood-burning stove for those nights when you want to stay in, plenty of hot water and beds that are comfortable for a good night's sleep after an energetic day. I would recommend Caberfeidh without hesitation."

November 2019

Ready to book?