Reviews of our Lodges

You don't have to take our word for how fantastic our Handpicked Lodges are.

Here's what some of our guests have to say

Westcott


"Beautiful Edwardian cottage recently refurbished to a very high standard. It felt isolated in beautiful surroundings although in fact it is only a few minutes walk to the nearby village. Judith was super welcoming and helpful, I really couldn't recommend this place enough."

August 2018

"Fabulous house in a beautiful setting. Good base for exploring the surrounding area and our 4 year old loved the table tennis table and piano. The wildlife was an extra bonus, within 30 of arriving we saw red squirrels, wee moose, rabbits and a woodpecker."

July 2018

"Westcott is a fantastic house and a great base for exploring the gorgeous Cairngorms. Enjoyed watching the wildlife and those squirrels really are cheeky! Will definitely be back to Westcott!"

July 2018

"Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful house!! We will definitely be back. "

August 2018

Cairn Eilrig


"A home from home. Delightful house with great warmth about it. Look forward to coming back again to see those views!"

April 2018

"A truely Fantastic cottage. We enjoyed our stay and would love to come again."

April 2018

"Had a great break here. Cottage is wonderful and location is fab."

April 2018

"Such a beautiful house set in a stunning location. Really impressed with the quality of Handpicked Lodges - we will get around them all!"

July 2018

"Thanks very much for a lovely stay. A beautiful presented house in a perfect location. Would definitely stay again. "

August 2018

"We have stayed in many cottages in Aviemore. All good but for me this was definitely the best. Great views, walk and cycle routes from the doorstep. Great service from Handpicked Lodges. We will be back"

September 2018

"The cottage blew us away. The house is immaculate and more the big enough for the 6 of us. Going to book for next year. "

September 2018

"What a beautiful place. The house is cosy and the views are spectacular. Would certainly come back. "

October 2018

Trails End Lodge


"Five star accommodation! Five star holiday! Five star location!"

July 2018

"Beautiful House and setting. Weather was fantastic, even used the BBQ! Always love coming to Aviemore and will definitely be back to stay here again."

May 2018

"We are all sad to leave. Just a weekend is too short! Hopefully we'll be back again some time!"

May 2018

"t was a privilege to be the first guests in this lovely house. We've visited Aviemore many times over many years and this is one of the loveliest places we've stayed."

April 2018

"A fantastic weeks break at Trails End Lodge for my 40th birthday. House is absolutely immaculate and perfect for all the family. "

September 2018

The Bothy


"Beautiful Bothy with everything you need in it to make such a comfortable stay. Had a throughly enjoyable break and would recommend The Bothy to everyone!"

July 2018

"The Bothy was a great retreat following a weekend skiing. Warm, clean and extremely well equipped. Loved the decoration. Perfect location. Great communication and instructions from Judith too. Highly recommend"

February 2018

"This is the perfect place to stay in aviemore, it's clean, it's warm and it has everything you need to feel at home. I'll definitely stay here again the next time I'm back."

January 2018

"Great lodge, and great break. Perfect for my partner and I and our four legged baby French bull dog loved the fire. We will return in the future."

August 2017

"We have absolutely loved our stay at the Bothy. Thank you so much for all of the thoughtful touches. We would love to stay again. "

October 2018

"We have loved our stay in The Bothy this week. We dont want to go home! The Bothy is fitted out to a very high standard making it a real home from home. We have stayed in many lodges in Aviemore and this has definitely made my top 2. We are looking forward to our next visit already! "

October 2018

"What a fab house! Loved the decor and the fire! Had a brilliant week here at the Bothy. "

November 2018

Burnbrae Lodge


"What a lovely house! Spacious and cosy at the same time, well stocked too!"

June 2018

"Lovely house, clean, comfy and feels secluded despite being in Carrbridge- and very easy to find. Check in and communication were great, and it's a perfect base for exploring Cairngorms and Aviemore."

February 2018

"Whoever is reading this, request the booking before everyone else does. It is as simple as that!!! We had a great time in the house for three nights. The house is very clean even for someone who is obsessed with cleanliness. On top of that, even if the weather was not the best to be out, this house provides enough entertainment just to stay in and get the best out of your relaxing Scotland holiday."

July 2018

"Amazing house! Incredible scenery! Wonderful stay, I can't say enough about this wonderful house and host.....Thank you for an amazing stay! The best place we have ever stayed, we hope to come back soon."

July 2017

"Burnbrae is a beautiful, spacious and well equipped house in a great location for touring the surrounding area. "

August 2018

"Thnak you so much for our fabulous long weekend in Burnbrae. Nothing at all is missing here. The pad is just so well equipped. "

September 2018

"This is an amazing house in a fantastic location. Everything about the house was special. "

October 2018

Riverside Lodge


"The lodge is amazing and we dont want to leave! We'll miss waking up to the fantastic views and having our breakfast on the patio. The river at the back is such a bonus - lots of family memories of all the fun there. Thank you"

August 2018

"A wonderful haven to come back to after a day full of outdoor activities with our 2 boys. We had a wonderful family holiday! The fire pit next to the river was a lovely added bonus, where we toasted marshmallows looking up at the stars. The house itself is very comfortable, I would highly recommend it. Judith’s pre-holiday information was very useful, as was the area information in the house. Thank you!!"

October 2017

"What a fantastic house. We spent 2 weeks in Riverside Lodge and could have happily stayed longer. There are lots of lovely walks and cycling routes right from the front door or just a short drive to Aviemore. If you enjoy the outdoors or just a relaxing family/romantic trip away I couldn't recommend it anymore."

September 2017

"We had a wonderful stay at Riverside Lodge and only wished we could've stayed longer. The house is ideal for families or groups of friends and it couldn't be better equipped for what we needed. The rooms are beautifully decorated and opening the bedroom patio door to the sunshine and sound of the river every morning was an excellent alarm call! Our small people guddled in the river for hours on end and we were only a short drive from all the activities we needed. Highly recommended. "

June 2017

"The design and comfort of the lodge is perfect, we've enjoyed many evenings sat around the fire pit and watching the birds. This is our 5th time in Scotland and by far the best lodge! "

August 2018

"Second visit and sure it wont be the last. Great time again. "

September 2018

"In one word - Tranquility! A perfect piece of heaven. We loved the sun rise and sun set over the river and listening to the water from our beds. "

October 2018

"Another fantastice week at Riverside Lodge. The changes made to the decor are great. Hope to return again next year. "

October 2018

"We have had a wonderful break at this beautiful lodge. The sound of the river is therapeutic and the view is stunning.......underfloor heating is a joy. "

November 2018

Alltnacriche


"Fabulous property, our only regret was not being able to stay longer. Made for a great base for trips to the Cairngorms. Super facilities mean 10 could easily be hosted here, with ample lounge space. Hope to return in future to see all Carrbridge has to offer in warmer months."

January 2018

"Fantastic lodge in a lovely peaceful location, just outside of Carrbridge. Everything finished to a very high standard both inside and outside. Very comfy beds in all the bedrooms with good communal areas with a cracking wood burning fire. Best bit for the group of 9 was the hot tub in the garden!"

November 2017

"This place is incredible. Beautiful cottage with so much space. Very tastefully decorated with every comfort. We had an amazing four days here. There are so many activities nearby in the area, a lovely little village in walking distance and when we asked for restaurant recommendations, the hotel the hosts told us about was spectacular. Communication was always prompt, polite and helpful and when we had a bit of a disaster with jewellery going down a drain they organised a plumber with no hassle. If you want a holiday in the Scottish Highlands this place is without a doubt the place to book. We will definitely be back"

July 2017

"An excellent house which accommodated our party of 10 easily. It was very well equipped with a lot of lovely personal touches throughout. Beds were comfortable and everywhere was very clean. The house is within easy walking distance of local restaurants and the nine hole golf course which is well worth playing. The hot tub was put to good use during our stay as was the outside garden furniture. The house stands in its own grounds, off the main road, so safe and very quiet at all times. A house we are definitely returning to!"

June 2017

"Such a wonderful house and location! We have stayed in many properties in the area and this is definitely the best. We will be back! "

October 2018

The Old Smithy


"The Old Smithy is a really beautiful little lodge nestled on the outskirts of the quiet picturesque Nethy Bridge. Ideally located for our skiing needs between Cairngorm and Lecht, and just a short drive from the main town of Aviemore. Judith was the perfect host, answered all our questions and provided everything we needed, even leaving us a card and welcome drinks. The Old Smithy is clean, tidy and well equipped with everything for a self catering stay. The log burner and view is simply stunning. Highly recommended stay! Thank you!"

February 2018

"This is a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Private steps lead down to the river and the log burning stove will keep you warm after a day walking in the forest or hills. Cannot recommend this place enough and the hosts, Tanja and Judith, are most thoughtful and welcoming. Five stars."

September 2017

"The Old Smithy is a special place, a real home from home. The house itself offers an extremely high standard of accommodation with many lovely design touches and is very well equipped. It's location is outstanding with a fabulous garden with great walks and bike trails on the doorstep. You really couldn't ask for more from a holiday cottage."

June 2017

"Very good holiday cottage. Thank you for another great fortnight here. "

September 2018

"What a beautiful cottage in a lovely setting. All you need for a wonderful holiday. "

October 2018

"This is our 3rd stay at the Old Smithy and it gets better each time. It really is a wee home from home and we will definitely be back for a 4th stay. "

October 2018

Foresters Lodge


"Wonderful house and garden in the most perfect location we have ever had in Nethy Bridge. I think we have our perfect house! Cant wait to come back."

July 2018

"The accommodation was wonderful and Judith was very attentive. We loved the shortbread that was waiting for us and Sam our lab loved the nearby walks and river. Thank you Judith."

September 2017

"The house is amazing, beautifully furnished, spacious (way bigger than what we expected from the images), everything you could possibly need is there. The hot tub, the sauna, the TV room and the games room are good fun and keep everyone busy in a bigger group. The kitchen is simply amazing, such a great open plan kitchen with enough space to comfortably sit everyone and to cook for a big group. A big fridge and an extra smaller one and the big stove are really helpful. The beds are incredibly comfortable and everyone slept so well. We went for hiking, fishing and kayaking trips nearby which was all not very far. The Spar and the Farm store in town are great places to buy fresh products from very friendly people. The whole area is well worth a trip! Thank you Judith and Tanja for offering such a great house"

May 2017

"This lodge has been tastefully renovated and is fantastic for large groups. After spending the days exploring the wilderness we made great use of the sauna, hot tub and games room each evening, without ever feeling the need to leave the lodge! Would love to stay here again."

April 2017

"Had a lovely time here at Foresters Lodge. Lovely decor, comfy beds and great facilities (hot tub and sauna!) We will definitely recommend to everyone back home! "

August 2018

"Fab time had by all! Great location and lovely house. Enjoyed the hot tub and cosy fires. "

September 2018

"Had a lovely long weekend here. The house and all the facilities have been amazing. A great family weekend in the hot tub, sauna and playing pool and board games. We will definitely be back. "

September 2018

"We enjoyed a wonderful family break. The lodge is very well catered for and as guests we couldn't have asked for more. Excellent location for day trips and beautiful woodland walks....followed by a relaxing evening in the hot tub and sauna. "

October 2018

Tomdhu Lodge


"We were honoured to be the first guests of this beautiful house. The hot tub was fab. House was superbly equipped and a wonderful base for all our outdoor activities. Spotted a couple of deers and an osprey! The views were fantastic. Hoping to come back soon. "

October 2018

"Thank you for a fantastic week! We spotted more wildlife then we ever dreamed of! The house is great and a real luxury to come home to. "

October 2018

"This is an amazing house in a great location, immaculate condition and superb amenities. Would not hesitate to give it 5 stars and would certainly recommend it to anyone"

December 2018

Rymore Wood Lodge


"Rymore Lodge sits on the middle of a secluded forest in the beautiful Cairngorms. Just a few miles away from the nearest town, it's the perfect place to unwind and explore this beautiful area from. The house has four very comfortable bedrooms (two double, two twin) as well as a large but cosy living room and a large, well equipped kitchen/dining room, with great views onto the garden. There is a terrace with a barbeque. The setting is incredibly peaceful. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the house is very warmly recommended!"

September 2018

"If you can say a house has emotions then Rymore has. Welcoming, relaxing, warming and peaceful even with 3 children and 4 dogs running around and enjoying the surroundings. Perfect place to stay for a larger group and so well supplied with everything you need. We had the best family holiday ever and returning to Rymore after all our trips out was the icing on the cake. Thank you"

October 2018

"We have loved staying in your secret forest. So much wildlife just sits at each window. The lodge is lovely, spacious and comfortable. Warm and well appointed. The wildlife cameras are an inspired and valued addition. "

November 2018

Douglas Cottage


"Charming cottage perfectly clean and very warm and cosy. Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could need. We especially enjoyed the log fire and the pretty garden. Superbly situated for local shops and the wonderful Boat Inn. A lovely place to stay. Would defiantly recommend."

October 2018

Ready to book?